away we go

Here I am, writing a blog.

I actually made this account back in 2013. I made a few posts but this blog and all it was intended to be was quickly left in the dust as I started university, had my life fall apart, got my life back together, and then continued to just do my very best.

I daren’t speak the cursed words “New Years resolution” but the fact is it’s January 2017 and shit has to change.

I don’t have any sort of creative outlet these days, and that really hasn’t been helping anything for the last 18 months or so, if not longer. A few people have suggested that I start writing a blog and I’ve been watching a dear friend of mine publish some brave and inspiring stuff on her blog in the last few weeks, so here I am.

Now I want to be absolutely clear, I’m not offering anything brave or inspiring here. That’s not the point. The point is to have an outlet; a way of expressing myself that doesn’t involve blood, sweat, or tears – or, indeed, that magical combination of all three that is just such a fun time. Not.

I have a tendency to just swallow my feelings. Any time I start feeling any strong emotion, I bury it as deep as I can and slowly filter it through my body and psyche as a fun-time combination of deep and debilitating distress and depression. What I’m hoping this blog will do is offer a slightly healthier way of dealing with…well, basically everything.

I don’t want to bore you with my life story. Mainly because I don’t actually expect there to be a “you.” I’m not doing this to attract an audience, to entertain or educate. I’m doing this in an attempt to alleviate some of the pain I’ve been putting myself through, and to encourage myself to confront and express my feelings.

In the words of a young Lin-Manuel Miranda,

“Ah love.”

*originally posted 24 January 2017

Leave a Reply

