of friends and first meetings

 

My two best friends in the world finally met today, and it was so full of love and laughter.

Amy and Grace mean the absolute world to me.

I’ve known Amy for 16 years, this will be our 17th year of friendship. We met in year 1 and have been as close as sisters ever since. We know everything about each other, we’ve been there for each other through the most difficult times in our lives, and I don’t know what I would have done without her.

I’ve known Grace for 2 years, but I feel like I’ve known her my whole life. I can’t imagine my life without Grace, because she is such a ray of sunshine and we’re basically the same person. I can talk to her about absolutely anything, and no matter how painful, political, or ridiculous the topic, we always end up laughing like absolute idiots.

These two women bring out the very best in me, and I like who I am when I’m with them.

Today was a very exciting day, because it was the first time they ever met. We just had a casual cuppa at my place, but it was such a delightful afternoon. They got along so well, straight away, and it was honestly all I could do to not just sit in silent awe and/or start blubbering into my tea right there. I mean there was never really any doubt in my mind that they would get along – they’re both joyful, compassionate, hilarious people and I can’t imagine anyone not liking either of them to be honest.

Still, it was a big moment.

But it couldn’t have gone better, and I’m actually getting super emotional just thinking about it. I’m so glad they got a chance to meet each other, I talk about each of them to the other enough and honestly I often felt a little funny about that because they hadn’t met. It always felt a little strange telling my oldest friend about this wonderful person I met a couple of years ago, and similarly it felt a little strange telling my wonderful new friend about my very oldest friend.

I feel like now that they’ve met they sort of…get it. They get it.

Now that they’ve been in a room together, laughed together, they can see that they’re very similar and both hold special places in my heart.

I’m over the moon. I’m full of all the things! Love, pride, relief, inspiration, uh all the things. What a great day.

 

Ah love.

 

*originally posted 24 January 2017

Leave a Reply

